demystifying geng & chip


Chicken Marsala by geng
September 24, 2009, 10:17 am
Filed under: Food, General, Geng's corner, Wednesdays with Geng and Chip

Get this, I posted this picture on my Facebook account and my friends starts asking for the recipe. I guess it’s not surprising that chicken marsala is a favorite of many.  This is a perfect example of a simple yet elegant and delicious dish. It is ideal for a quick weeknight entree and/or serving with company. As I mentioned to my friends on FB, the secret is good Marsala wine. Don’t buy the stuff you’ll find in the grocery store. There’s no telling how long they’ve been sitting on the shelf.  Always buy your Marsala in a wine shop and spend at least twelve buckaroos. Also, I like using cremini mushrooms, creminis possessed a certain bold flavor that really sticks out.  They’re actually baby portabellos. Give it a try, I’m sure you’ll like it.

Chicken Marsala

Ingredients:

1/4 cup all-purpose flour for coating
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon italian seasoning
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon minced garlic
4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves – pounded 1/4 inch thick
4 tablespoons butter
4 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup sliced mushrooms
3/4 cup Marsala wine
1/4 cup heavy cream

Directions:

1. In a shallow dish or bowl, mix together the flour, salt, pepper, garlic powder, italian seasoning and oregano. Coat chicken pieces in flour mixture.

2. In a large skillet, melt butter in oil over medium heat. Place chicken in the pan, and lightly brown on both sides. Remove from pan.

3. Add minced garlic and mushrooms to the pan and cook for a minute or two. Pour in wine and deglaze. Let the wine reduce for a little bit then add the chicken.

4. Cover skillet; simmer chicken for 10 minutes, turning once, until no longer pink and juices run clear then add cream.

5. Serve with pasta of your choice. Enjoy!

This is a recipe that I found at Allrecipes.com. However, we modified it a little bit to make it our own. The result was to die for.


6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

It looks delicious alright! I have a whole bunch of baby portobellos sitting and doing absolutely nothing…and this looks like the perfect thing to make with ’em!

Comment by Amrita

Go for it. You can’t go wrong with a dish that has baby portabellos, lol.

Comment by geng

I love all the mushrooms in this dish! It sounds so yummy!

Comment by Cookie

Thanks Cookie.

Comment by geng

I made this dish for dinner tonight. I only modified it a bit (left out the garlic powder and Italian spices because I didn’t have any) and it was delicious! This is my favorite dish to order when I’m at Italian restaurants, and now I can make it at home. Thanks a bunch!

Comment by Alicia

I’m glad you liked it Alicia. The truth is the addition of garlic powder and italian seasoning is completely optional. I’m sure it was still good.

Comment by geng




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

